Know State Adoption Laws
Even if you consent to an adoption, you can change your mind ó any time during your pregnancy, and up to 45 days after the birth of the child.
Consent to the adoption from the childís other biological parent is required only if you lived with them during your pregnancy and they paid part of your medical expenses.
Legal or court fees related to the adoption are paid by the adoptive family, not the birth parent.
In New York State, the adoptive family can legally pay your living expenses for the 60 days prior to birth and for 30 days after birth. They can also pay for expenses related to your pregnancy and birth.
Important resources to explain your rights as a patient or birth mother in New York: